Aller au contenu
Home » Blog » Holiday rentals in Fouras Charente-maritime

Holiday rentals in Fouras Charente-maritime

    Fouras, ideally located holiday rental

    7 reasons to choose a holiday rental in Fouras 

    This is a balcony peninsula on the Charente Maritime islands, halfway between the islands of Ré and Oléron.

    Location of your holiday rentals in Fouras

    Fouras holiday rentals are particularly well located for visiting the Charente Maritime. Fouras is a narrow peninsula situated halfway between the bridges of the ile de Ré and the ile d'Oléron. At the end of the peninsula is the pier for the Ile d'Aix. On the other side of the Charente estuary, you can admire Ile Madame. Fouras is also 29km south of La Rochelle and 13km north of Rochefort sur mer. 50km to the east is the Marais Poitevin and the famous Venise Verte. 31km to the south on the road to Marennes and the island of Oléron, you will discover Brouage. Brouage is a forgotten place where the history of France was written under Louis XIII and Cardinal Richelieu who was governor, then Louis XIV and Mazarin and finally Champlain who founded Quebec.. 30km to the south Sainteswhich has been awarded the "Villes d'art et d'histoire" label by the French Ministry of Culture. The town of Cognacknown worldwide for the products of its wine cellars, also benefits from this "Town of Art and History" label because of its exceptional heritage.

    The main disadvantage of your holiday rental in Fouras, both seaside and central, is that you'll have to make choices. The rich heritage of the Charentes is such that you won't be able to visit everything. One last figure to convince you: 11% of France's listed Romanesque churches can be found in the Charentes, on the doorstep of your holiday home in Fouras.

    Nature around your holiday rental in Fouras

    Wherever you choose to rent holiday accommodation in Fouras, you'll be less than 700m from the ocean. This is ideal for breathing in the ocean air, which is ideal for rest and relaxation.

    With its many beaches, surrounded by woods and marshes, Fouras is also known as the green peninsula. This name is linked to the many holm oaks in the woods, which retain their green foliage all year round. The marshes on the outskirts of Fouras are a haven of peace for an abundance of wildlife. This wildlife is easy to observe and admire.

    Alluvial deposits from the Pyrenees, transported by the Garonne and then the Gironde, provide rich water that is the source of an incomparable ecosystem. This water, its temperature and its currents are extremely favourable for shellfish (oysters and mussels). They are also good for the food chain of many species of fish. These beautiful fish are what you can enjoy during your stay.

    Until the 1960s, the therapeutic virtues of sea bathing in Fouras were widely recognised. Bathers relieved their rheumatic pains by smearing themselves with mud and then exposing themselves to the sun. Today, mud poultices are one of the most popular treatments at the Rochefort-sur-mer thermal baths.

    The climate Choose your holiday rental in Fouras

    More than 2,000 hours of sunshine, an average summer temperature of 20°C and a gentle ocean breeze that rises with every rising tide make life in Fouras so pleasant.

    On your return from Rochefort or La Rochelle, the entrance to the peninsula is often heralded by a cloudless sky. This is an effect of the microclimate that will enhance your holidays in Fouras. Another effect is that the air conditioning of holiday rentals in Fouras is of little use. A holiday rental with a swimming pool in Fouras is a plus, as the ocean retreats very far at low tide. And if that pool can be covered for those rare rainy days, it's the assurance of an ideal all-weather holiday.

    The story was written 2 steps from your holiday home in Fouras

    Louis XIV, Colbert, Vauban and François Ferry changed the history of Rochefort and the surrounding area forever. Fouras is one of the key parts of the ring of fire protecting the Rochefort-sur-Mer arsenal.

    Under the direction of the King's general engineer, François Ferry, the medieval castle was transformed into a fortress protecting the ships anchored in the Fouras roadstead from the fire of its cannons. From the top of the Vauban fort's keep, you can enjoy a 360° view of all the Charente's channels and islands. The keep also houses the Fouras museum (classified as a French museum). Here you can discover archaeological and maritime collections (seaside and military).

    Your holiday rental in Fouras will also be the ideal base from which to discover the many historic sites in the surrounding area (La Rochelle, Rochefort, Ile d'Aix, Brouage, .... ).

    Fouras began its transformation from a fishing village and garrison town into a seaside resort in 1840. The bourgeoisie's enthusiasm for sea bathing led to the construction of a railway line and the arrival of the Chemin de fer d'Orléans in 1884. A direct summer line linked Fouras les bains to Paris-Montparnasse. The casino soon followed, where the greatest French artists of the time performed.

    The sea-bathing craze has also allowed different architectural styles to express themselves in Fouras. All these villas have been preserved and enhanced. A seaside resort that has managed to preserve its authentic charm from the concrete. A stroll along the narrow streets of Fouras will take you on a surprising journey back in time.

    Follow our guides Henriette and Léopoldine on a journey of discovery. dramatised tour of Fouras the baths. The richness and accuracy of the information distilled from Henriette and Léopoldine's delightful chatter will have you teaching even your friends from Fouras.

    Meet the Marquis of Vauban and Madame de Montespan and inspect the works of the Ring of Fire from the top of Fort Vauban. The Bay of Fouras and the Charente islands will be revealed to you in a dazzling panorama, while the Marquis de Vauban will share with you the mysteries of the Ring of Fire.

    The sharing of anecdotes, the history within the history is a part that is not found in brochures and tourist guides. This is also what you will discover when you rent a holiday home in Fouras from a private owner.

    Quality of life Zen holidays in Fouras

    A seaside resort with a permanent population of around 4,000 that welcomes large numbers of summer visitors without affecting the quality of life. There are none of the crowds and promiscuity of other seaside resorts, either on the beaches or in town.

    The 2 covered markets (one for local produce and one for seafood) are open every morning, every day, all year round except New Year's Day and 1 May. This is complemented by the many shops in the pedestrianised street and a supermarket.

    The fairs open their stalls every morning on Tuesdays and Fridays from June to September.

    Numerous associations and events also contribute to the quality of life of both permanent and visiting residents.

    You'll also discover the Presqu'île spirit and see that the relaxed pace will quickly get the better of the ambient stress of modern life. Holiday rentals in Fouras les bains are the best way to enjoy this real quality of life.

    Gastronomy in Fouras

    From your holiday accommodation in Fouras, you can walk or cycle to the covered market or to the oyster and mussel farmers' huts.

    Fishmongers will be selling Le Maigre and Le Céteau, local gastronomic champions, alongside Sea Bass, Mullet, Saint Pierre and many other better-known varieties of fish. Oyster and mussel farmers, whether at the market or in their huts, will be offering their seasonal oysters and mussels to take away or enjoy on the spot.

    If you're reluctant to try your hand at preparing seafood, the restaurants on the peninsula will be able to concoct some unforgettable recipes. It's hard to resist the temptation of tasting this seafood on a café terrace or on an oyster farmer's terrace overlooking the ocean.

    Opting for a holiday rental in Fouras also means having privileged contact with hosts who will be delighted to share with you their best addresses.

    Fun and cultural activities in Fouras

    Sailing, kitesurfing, kayaking, golf, mini golf, dancing, cinema, library, games library, beach games or casino, beach, swimming, fishing on foot or in the open sea, funfair, walking, wildlife watching, ... there's something for everyone.

    Choosing a holiday rental in Fouras also means having access to up-to-date information tailored to your needs, from local people.

    Things to see and do in Fouras

    Information sheet prepared and offered by the **** holiday residence in Fouras les Bains.

    "Les Thalassîles", 4-star holiday home rental with swimming pool in Fouras, Charente maritime.

    Holiday homes to live in at Fouras

    Relaxation and well-being in a holiday home with swimming pool, near La Rochelle

    Seasonal rental in Fouras
    Book your holiday home at Thalassîles

    and
    Enjoy our beautiful region in the best possible conditions

    Retour à tous les articles :Blog

Aller au contenu
Accueil » Blog » Locations de vacances à Fouras Charente-maritime

Locations de vacances à Fouras Charente-maritime

    Fouras, location de vacances idéalement située

    7 raisons de choisir une location de vacances à Fouras 

    , presqu’île balcon sur les îles de Charente maritime, à mi chemin entre les iles de Ré et d’Oléron.

    La localisation de vos locations de vacances à Fouras

    Les locations de vacances à Fouras sont particulièrement bien situées pour visiter la Charente maritime. Fouras est une presqu’île étroite située à mi chemin entre les ponts de l’ile de Ré et de l’ile d’Oléron. A l’extrémité de la presqu’île, se trouve l’embarcadère pour l’île d’Aix. De l’autre coté de l’estuaire de la Charente vous pourrez admirer l’ile Madame. Fouras est aussi à 29km au sud de La Rochelle et 13km au nord de Rochefort sur mer. 50km à l’est vous accéderez au Marais poitevin et la fameuse Venise verte. 31km au sud sur la route pour Marennes et l’ile d’Oléron, vous découvrirez Brouage. Brouage lieu oublié ou l’histoire de France s’est écrite sous Louis XIII et le Cardinal Richelieu qui en fut gouverneur, puis Louis XIV et Mazarin et enfin Champlain fondateur du Quebec. 30km au sud Saintes, qui s’est vue attribuer le label “Villes d’art et d’histoire” par le ministère de la culture. La ville de Cognac, mondialement connue pour le produit de ses chais, bénéficie aussi de par son exceptionnel patrimoine de ce label “Villes d’art et d’histoire”.

    L’inconvénient majeur de votre location de vacances à Fouras, à la fois en bord de mer et centrale, est que vous devrez faire des choix. La richesse patrimoniale des Charentes est telle que ne pourrez pas tout visiter. Un dernier chiffre pour vous en convaincre 11% des églises romanes classées de France se trouvent en Charentes, aux portes de votre maison de vacances à Fouras.

    La nature autour de votre location de vacance à Fouras

    Où que soit votre location de vacances à Fouras, vous résiderez à moins de 700m de l’océan. Ceci est idéal pour respirer un air océanique iodé, propice au repos et la détente.

    De nombreuses plages, entourées de bois et de marais, Fouras est aussi dénommée la presqu’île verte. Cette appellation est liée aux nombreux chênes verts présents dans les bois et qui conservent toute l’année leur feuillage vert. Les marais aux portes de Fouras sont un havre de paix pour une faune sauvage abondante. Cette vie sauvage se laisse assez facilement observer et admirer.

    Les alluvions issus des Pyrénées, transportés par la Garonne puis la Gironde donnent une eau riche à l’origine d’un écosystème incomparable. Cette eau, sa température et ses courants sont extrêmement favorables aux coquillages (huîtres et moules). Ils le sont aussi à la chaîne alimentaire de nombreuses espèces de poissons. Ces beaux poissons que vous pourrez déguster lors de votre séjour.

    Jusque dans les années 60 les vertus thérapeutiques des bains de mer à Fouras étaient reconnues. Les baigneurs soulageaient leurs douleurs rhumatismales en s’enduisant de vase puis en s’exposant au soleil. De nos jours, les cataplasmes de boue (vase) font partie des traitements les plus appréciés aux thermes de Rochefort-sur-mer.

    Le climat privilégié de votre location de vacances à Fouras

    Plus de 2000 heures d’ensoleillement, une température moyenne en été de 20°C et une douce brise océanique qui se lève à chaque marée montante font la douceur de vivre à Fouras.

    Quand on revient de Rochefort ou La Rochelle l’entrée de la presqu’ile est souvent annoncée par un ciel dégagé de tout nuage. C’est un effet du micro climat qui agrémentera vos vacances à Fouras. Un autre effet est que la climatisation des locations de vacances à Fouras est peu utile. Une location de vacances avec piscine à Fouras est un plus, l’océan se retirant très loin à la marée basse. Et si cette piscine peut être couverte pour les rares jours de pluie c’est l’assurance de vacances idéales tout temps.

    L’histoire s’est écrite à 2 pas de votre maison de vacances à Fouras

    Louis XIV, Colbert, Vauban, François Ferry ont définitivement changé l’histoire de Rochefort et des ses alentours. Fouras est une des pièces maîtresses de la ceinture de feu protégeant l’arsenal de Rochefort-sur-Mer.

    Sous la direction de l’ingénieur général du Roy, François Ferry, Le château médiéval s’est alors mué en une forteresse protégeant sous le feu de ses canons les navires ancrés dans la rade de Fouras. Du haut du donjon du fort Vauban vous pourrez embrasser dans une vue à 360° l’ensemble des pertuis et îles charentaises. Le donjon abrite aussi le musée de Fouras (site classé musée de France). Vous pourrez y découvrir des collections archéologiques et maritimes (balnéaire, militaire).

    Votre location de vacances à Fouras sera aussi le point de rayonnement idéal pour découvrir les très riches sites historiques alentours (La Rochelle, Rochefort, île d’Aix, Brouage,…. ).

    Fouras a commencé sa mue d’un village de pécheurs et ville de garnison en une station balnéaire dès 1840. L’engouement de la bourgeoisie pour les bains de mer aidant, une ligne de chemin de fer a été construite et permis l’arrivée du chemin de fer dès 1884 (Chemin de fer d’Orléans). Une ligne estivale directe reliait Fouras les bains à Paris-Montparnasse. Le casino suit rapidement, passage obligé où se produisaient les plus grands artistes français de l’époque.

    L’engouement pour les bains de mer a permis aussi à différents courant architecturaux de s’exprimer à Fouras. Toutes ces villas ont été préservées et mises en valeur. Une station balnéaire qui a su se préserver du béton et garder un charme authentique. Une simple promenade le long des ruelles de Fouras se transformera en un surprenant voyage dans le temps.

    Suivez nos guides Henriette et Léopoldine dans une visite théâtralisée de Fouras les bains. Richesse et exactitude des informations distillées dans les bavardages savoureux d’Henriette et Léopoldine vous permettront d’en apprendre même à vos amis fourasins.

    Partez à la rencontre du Marquis de Vauban et de Madame de Montespan et inspectez les travaux de la ceinture de feu du haut du Fort Vauban. La baie de Fouras et les iles charentaises se livreront à vous dans un panorama éblouissant pendant que le Marquis de Vauban partagera avec vous les arcanes de la ceinture de feu.

    Le partage des anecdotes, l’histoire dans l’Histoire est une partie que l’on ne trouve pas dans les brochures et guides touristiques. C’est aussi cela que vous découvrirez avec votre location de maison de vacances à Fouras au près d’un particulier.

    La qualité de vie à Fouras, des vacances Zen

    Une station balnéaire d’environ 4000 habitants permanents qui accueille de nombreux estivants sans que la qualité de vie y soit affectée. Pas la foule et la promiscuité habituelle des autres stations balnéaires aussi bien sur les plages qu’en ville.

    Les 2 marchés couverts (un pour les produits de la terre et un pour ceux de la mer) sont ouverts tous les matins tous les jours, toute l’année excepté le 1er de l’an et le 1er mai. Cela est complété par les nombreux commerces de la rue piétonne et un supermarché .

    Les foires ouvrent leurs étals de juin à septembre chaque matin les mardis et vendredis.

    De nombreuses associations et animations contribuent aussi à la qualité de vie des fourasins et fourasines permanents ou de passage.

    Vous découvrirez aussi l’Esprit Presqu’île et verrez que le rythme décontracté prendra rapidement le dessus sur le stress ambiant de notre vie moderne. Les locations de vacances à Fouras les bains sont le meilleur moyen de profiter de cette qualité de vie réelle.

    La gastronomie à Fouras

    De vos locations de vacances à Fouras vous pourrez à pied ou à bicyclette vous rendre aux halles couvertes ou aux cabanes d’ostréiculteurs et mytiliculteurs.

    A l’étal des poissonniers le Maigre, le Céteau champions de la gastronomie locale voisineront le Bar, le Mulet, le Saint pierre, et de nombreuses autres variétés plus connues de poissons. Les ostréiculteurs et mytiliculteurs que ce soit au marché ou dans leurs cabanes vous proposeront leurs huîtres et moules de saison à emporter ou à déguster sur place.

    Vous hésitez à vous lancer dans leur préparation, les restaurants de la presqu’île sauront vous concocter des recettes inoubliables. Comment résister à la tentation d’une dégustation de ces fruits de mer à la terrasse d’un café ou de celles des ostréiculteurs face à l’océan.

    Opter pour une location de vacances à Fouras c’est aussi avoir un contact privilégié avec des hôtes qui auront plaisir à partager avec vous leurs plus belles adresses.

    Les activités ludiques et culturelles à Fouras

    Voile, kitesurf, kayak, golf, mini golf, danse, cinéma, bibliothèque, ludothèque, jeux de plage ou au casino, plage, baignade, pèche à pied ou haute mer, fête foraine, ballade, observation de la vie sauvage, … il y en a pour tous et tout les goûts.

    Choisir une location de vacances à Fouras c’est aussi avoir accès à une information à jour adaptée à vos attentes, par des personnes du pays.

    Que faire, Voir, visiter a Fouras

    Fiche d’information préparée et offerte par la résidence de vacances **** à Fouras les Bains.

    ” Les Thalassîles “, location de maison de vacances avec piscine classée 4 étoiles à Fouras, Charente maritime.

    Des maisons de vacances à vivre à Fouras

    Détente et bien-être dans un gite de la résidence de vacances avec piscine, location proche La Rochelle

    Location saisonnière à Fouras
    Réservez votre maison de vacances aux Thalassîles

    et
    Profitez de notre belle région dans les meilleurs conditions

    Retour à tous les articles :Blog